Today I felt a Rainbow

Ever get bored of the standard “Fine thanks” answer to the obligatory “How are you?”

I have already told you What I really mean when I tell you I am fine. I’ve decided it’s time for a new answer. One that gets across an honest answer, quickly, but does not drag the unsuspecting questioner into an awkward conversation.

I have started answering that question with colours.

Colours can mean a multitude of things to different people. Each colour invokes memories and images that in turn help you relive emotions. This is all personal. Here you will find my colours, and what they mean to me. I have deliberately left them as a series of words rather than a clear sentence as my use of colours to describe mood aims to negate the need for succinct sentences.

Beige, boring, time is running out, unnoticed, unloved, unloveable

Black, dark, alone, fear, safe from acknowledgement

White, blinding, dangerous, truth, clean, hospital

Orange, sun, sunset, warm, fire,

Yellow, danger, mocking, noticed too much, humiliated

Red, love, blood, lips, sex

Purple, loud, false, uncomfortable

Green, fields, ill, ignored, alone

Grey, death, power, stench, jealous

Pink, carefree, hopeful, young, fresh

Blue, disconnected, disjointed, forgotten, failing, failed, failure

Today I’ve felt a rainbow.

One thought on “Today I felt a Rainbow

  1. I love the analogy. How strange though that colours have such different meanings to individuals? For me, yellow is the colour of the sun, bright, playful and happy. It had never occurred to me that others might view it differently! Thank you

Leave a Reply

